Landing Nav

Site Breadcrumb

College Counseling

 

MEET THE COLLEGE COUNSELING TEAM

Drew Guarino Associate Director of College Counseling
Danielle Cohen, College Counseling Associate

RECENT ACCEPTANCES

"Our position on the college admissions process centers on discovering the most competitive match/fit for each student." 
Joe Runge, Former Director of College Counseling

See Full Listing of Colleges

Northwestern University
Cornell
UC Berkeley
Georgetown University
Dartmouth
UNC Chapel Hill
Middlebury College
Colby College
Colgate
College of William & Mary
Tulane University
Tufts University

The College Counseling Philosophy

Carrollwood Day School's college counseling philosophy centers on a five-year developmental program that is designed to deconstruct and demystify what has become a complex process involving many moving pieces. We holistically invest in “slow dripping” information to parents and students as they begin their tenure in the upper school. It is our goal to discover the most competitive match/fit for each CDS student. As college students spend 90% of their time outside the classroom, it is imperative to not only seek a challenging and scholarly environment, but one that feels comfortable and manageable both inside and outside the classroom.

College Representatives

Thank you for your interest in visiting Carrollwood Day School. We look forward to seeing you soon! Click here to request a visit, read our school profile, and see a campus map.

College Counseling Timeline

The Carrollwood Day School college counseling department believes that planning for a collegiate career should start before the upper school journey begins, which is why we have a very unique timeline for college planning. Read more about how the CDS specialized program starts in 8th grade.

Financial Aid and Bright Futures

Families often ask about Financial Aid and what the process looks like. Read more about the types of financial aid available and how to determine what will work for your student and family.

NAVIANCE

Naviance is a comprehensive database used by students and parents in conjunction with College Counseling to store important academic information (transcripts, letters of recommendation, and school documents such as our profile) to assist students in the application process. College Counseling uses Naviance as the platform to not only store important documents in the admission process, but to electronically deliver this information to each school to which a student applies. 

CDS NAVIANCE SITE

Links for students and parents

With all the information out there, we've made it easy for you to find what you're looking for. Click here to find all the links for the college counseling process. 

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date on the latest CDS College Counseling news. Whether we have colleges visiting us (on campus or virtually), special announcements about or school or our students, this is the place to find it!

CDS College Counseling Twitter Page

CollegeStats

100%

Admitted to a four-year college or university since the first Upper School graduating class in 2009.

98%

2020 graduates admitted to a Phi Beta Kappa institution, representing the top 290 schools in the U.S.

76%

Students from the class of 2020 who received a Florida Bright Futures Academic or Medallion Award.

15

International schools admitted to by CDS graduates in the last three years.

95%

Students from the class of 2020 who applied to an out-of-state college or university.

41%

2020 graduates attending an out-of-state college or university.

1 of 15

Schools in the United States to earn Cum Laude Society membership and be an International Baccalaureate (IB) qualified institution.

$190,922

Average four-year unsolicited merit-based award for seniors in the class of 2020.

College Counseling Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Aug 1
Mon, Aug 2
Tue, Aug 3
College Application Party
-
Class of 2022
Wed, Aug 4
Thu, Aug 5
Fri, Aug 6
Sat, Aug 7
Sun, Aug 8
Mon, Aug 9
Tue, Aug 10
Wed, Aug 11
Thu, Aug 12
Fri, Aug 13
Sat, Aug 14
Sun, Aug 15
Mon, Aug 16
Tue, Aug 17
Wed, Aug 18
Thu, Aug 19
Fri, Aug 20
Sat, Aug 21
Sun, Aug 22
Mon, Aug 23
Wed, Aug 25
Thu, Aug 26
Fri, Aug 27
Sat, Aug 28
Sun, Aug 29
Mon, Aug 30
Tue, Aug 31
Wed, Sep 1
Thu, Sep 2
Fri, Sep 3
Sat, Sep 4

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • College Counseling Calendar
    • Graduation cap College Visits & Fairs
    • Exlamation Testing Dates
    • Group Parent Meetings